## Irene Kaufmann Settlement



**IRENE KAUFMANN SETTLEMENT** 

The real organization of the Irene Kaufmann Settlement was April 27, 1900, and then it was known as the Columbian Council School. The first resident director was Miss Julia Schoenfeld, who was followed by Miss Sadie Levy, Miss Yetta Baumgarten, Miss Addie Weihl, Albert Baron, Miss Elizabeth Neufeld and Samuel Leff. In 1914, Miss Schoenfeld again took charge, to be succeeded by Sidney A. Teller, the present Resident Director. In 1909, Mr. and Mrs. Henry Kaufmann erected a new building for the settlement as a memorial to their daughter, Irene Kaufmann. It has grown with each succeeding year, and its activities have spread into numerous and diverse channels. Mr. Teller has brought the Irene Kaufmann Settlement before the public, and its beneficial work in the Hill District is prominently known.

Officers and directors of the Irene Kaufmann Settlement, which is af-



Mrs. A. Leo Weil, Honorary President



Louis J. Affelder, President

filiated with the Federation of Jewish Philanthropies, are as follows:

- LOUIS J. AFFELDER...... President 5825 Bartlett Street

MISS M. AFFELDER......Secretary A. J. SUNSTEIN.....Treasurer

5639 Bartlett Street



Sidney Teller, Resident Director MENRY KAUFMANN..... RABBI S. H. GOLDENSON ..... ..... Honorary Trustee DIRECTORS M. ROTHSCHILD 422 Baum Street W. B. KLEE 5307 Northumberland Street E. J. KAUFMANN 5625 Darlington Road MRS. ENOCH RAUH 5837 Bartlett Street F. T. WEIL 5651 Beacon Street

N. SPEAR

5321 Northumberland Avenue S. LEO RUSLANDER

- 311 Melwood Street MRS. E. SUNSTEIN
- 5506 Aylesboro Avenue LEONARD S. LEVIN
- 1356 Denniston Avenue BENJAMIN LENCHER
- Frick Building PHILIP HAMBURGER
- 467 S. Rebecca Street JUDGE JOSIAH COHEN
- Maryland and Howe Street DR. LUDWIG B. BERNSTEIN.....
- Washington Trust Building

COMMITTEES OF THE IRENE KAUFMANN SETTLEMENT BOARD

Executive Committee LOUIS J. AFFELDER, Chairman J. W. FRANK NATHANIEL SPEAR A. J. SUNSTEIN MAX ROTHSCHILD

Committee on Immediate Development of Settlement MAX ROTHSCHILD, Chairman LOUIS J. AFFELDER LEO RUSLANDER LEONARD S. LEVIN SIDNEY A. TELLER

Committee on Volunteers MRS. ELIAS SUNSTEIN, Chairman FERDINAND T. WEIL LEO RUSLANDER BENJ. LENCHER SIDNEY A. TELLER

Committee on Future Development of Settlement LOUIS J. AFFELDER, Chairman A. J. SUNSTEIN NATHANIEL SPEAR I. W. FRANK SIDNEY A. TELLER